How to open an existing template I've made?

Hello there everyone!

I’m new to BSS and I’d like to use it to continue work on a site I’ve created but I’m having problems figuring out how to open the template in the editor.

Could someone tell me what I’m missing? How do I open an existing html template in the editor?

Thanks for the help!

If you created an HTML template outside of Bootstrap Studio (either hand coded, or with some other software) you cannot open it in Bootstrap Studio as a “template.” Bootstrap Studio does not support the importing of third-party templates, or even those that you hand-code yourself.

You can only bring HTML files into BSS as custom code blocks. This is simply a limitation of the program, and it really should be something that’s made more clear on the Bootstrap Studio homepage. because the way it’s advertised, it can confuse people into thinking they can buy, download or create Bootstrap templates and them import them into BSS. The only templates BSS can use are the ones that come with the program.

Of course, you can always rebuild your HTML template in BSS using it’s components (which are how BSS creates it’s HTML) and then save your site as a “template” for your own use in the future.

What’s often more helpful, is to save portions of web pages you’ve created as custom library components, and then you can easily put together a new website by simply using your own library of navbars, headers, footers, and so on.

Ooof, that’s absolutely heartbreaking. Nowhere in the documentation could I find anywhere that it said it couldn’t import html and when I tried to ask on the forums before purchase, it wouldn’t allow me to because I didn’t have a purchase associated with my email. I don’t know that it’s feasible to import the 40-50 sites I manage into BSS as custom code blocks but it sounds like not a very happy solution.