Collapsed navbar won't close with same page anchors

The site I am working on has a long home page with several same page anchors (id=“contact”). When in mobile view, the collapsed menu works fine on the first click to an anchor. However, when the hamburger menu is expanded for the second time, it remains open even after clicking another same page anchor link; the menu is then blocking page content. When clicking a link to a separate page, everything works as expected with the menu retracting upon link selection.

Based upon internet research, it appears to be a somewhat common problem since a new page is not being selected and loaded. I have tried a number of the methods provided in search results, but nothing seems to work.

Am I missing something? Any suggestions for this?

FWIW: I am able to reproduce the same results using any of the basic BSS built in templates and all three of the built in navbars display the same behavior.

I am new to Bootstrap and Bootstrap Studio so any help is much appreciated. Previously worked with Dreamweaver CS3, Serif WebPlus, WordPress.

Since I can reproduce this using just the core BSS components, wouldn’t this be considered a bug?

I have created a test website using only the built-in components from BSS.

http://navbartest1.bss.design/

1. Reduce browser to mobile width.
  2. Click the hamburger menu and select ‘Skills’ or ‘Website’ which are same page anchors.
  3. Expanded menu will close after selection.
  4. Open the hamburger menu again and select the other link (Skills or Website)
  5. The menu will stay open, blocking page content until the page is refreshed or the hamburger button is clicked again.
  6. Notice the link to ‘Hire Me’ opens a new page and the menu retracts as expected.

This might be a little hard to explain, but here goes.

These URLS are not exactly the same.

http://navbartest1.bss.design/

http://navbartest1.bss.design/index.html

http://navbartest1.bss.design/index.html#skills