Custom code and tree shaking

Hi everyone,
Quick question. I know it’s kind of been asked and answered before but :slight_smile:
I’m still new to BSS and have played around with quite a bit of custom code, coz I’ve used the JS libraries like GSAP.
I’m assuming that any code I write is shipped along with the default BS code. Does this make a site really large and slow?
I think I read here that we can’t get rid of BS default code, because it’s linked to the CDN
Is there no way around it, you have to ship a site with redundant/unused code?

You don’t have to use a CDN for the Bootstrap files. There are option for this in File > Settings > Export. Further, you can create your own optimized versions of Bootstrap’s CSS and JS by following their guidelines here…

In my experience, on 4G/broadband connections, the difference in load time between sites that use the standard Bootstrap files vs optimized files is negligible. I have no problem getting Lighthouse speed scores of 95 or better using the standard bootstrap CSS/JS downloaded from my server.

Of course any custom code you add is going to add to the time it takes to download the site, but the code would have to be pretty large to create a noticeable slowdown. You can use Chrome dev tools to view the actual time it takes for the page assets to download from the server, and see which things are causing the greatest slowdowns. In my experience, the HTML/CSS/JS is rarely the cause of large slowdowns. Usually, images are the big offenders. I constantly see people use images with massive native resolutions that are 5 times larger than what’s being displayed on the site.

In general, I’ve found that websites built with Bootstrap Studio are typically quite fast compared to websites built with say, Wordpress or Wix, which are often horrendously slow.

1 Like