Globally changes for button component

I would like to make a customization to the “Buttons” component, generally across all classes. Where do I need to do this?

I would like to do the following:

• Background color of buttons all (primary, success etc.) to 100%.
  • Text color of all buttons (primary, success etc.) to white
  • Background color of all buttons (primary, success etc.) to 50%.
  • Deactivate border of all buttons (primary, success etc.)

Only with adjusting the variables I fail. Is there another way to do this, e.g. via mixins or maps?

I’m not that experienced yet.

Thx for your Support.
Reto

.btn-bg-opacity-50 {
  opacity: 0.50;
}

.btn-primary {
  --bs-btn-color: #fff;
  --bs-btn-bg: #0d6efd;
  --bs-btn-border-color: #0d6efd;
  --bs-btn-hover-color: #fff;
  --bs-btn-hover-bg: #0b5ed7;
  --bs-btn-hover-border-color: #0a58ca;
  --bs-btn-focus-shadow-rgb: 49,132,253;
  --bs-btn-active-color: #fff;
  --bs-btn-active-bg: #0a58ca;
  --bs-btn-active-border-color: #0a53be;
  --bs-btn-active-shadow: inset 0 3px 5px rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.125);
  --bs-btn-disabled-color: #fff;
  --bs-btn-disabled-bg: #0d6efd;
  --bs-btn-disabled-border-color: #0d6efd;
}

I just created a new class for the opacity. Then just copy the var to a new stylesheet and change as needed. Background color is already at 100% and the text is white already.

I could have adjusted var

--bs-btn-disabled-opacity: 0.65;

to

--bs-btn-disabled-opacity: 0.50;

which would give you some more control in the settings but was unsure if you were using it for a disabled state button.

Perhaps you can help me to understand what the advantage is to these --bs- variables. I’m still scratching my head.

How is

.btn-primary {
--bs-btn-color: #fff;
}

more useful compared to…

.btn-primary {
color: #fff;
}

To me, it just seems like they added Bootstrap specific rules with the --bs-btn- , but how do they help us as developers over the ordinary CSS rules?

@printninja