How to change hover color?

Hi,

I’m new to BSS, and one thing I just can’t find is where to change the hover color on a button. Is it somewhere in Appearance or Options menu or someplace else?

Have an amazing day, where we again make a difference for each other.

Hiya @Klientbutikken and welcome to the forums!

You need to edit the CSS to change things like hover and active etc.

1 Like

Bootstrap provides limited built-in options for changing the button styling.

Select your button, go to the Options panel and under Button Options you’ll see Style. The default button background color is Primary, but you can change it to any of the other pre-defined colors (Secondary, Success, Info, etc…) from the particular Bootstrap theme you’ve chosen. Bootstrap themes are set by going to the top menu File > Settings > Bootstrap > Theme.

If you want a custom color all your own, As @jo-r pointed out, you have to change the CSS to affect the button characteristics. Editing CSS seems complicated at first, but once you get the hang of it, it’s not too bad. (LEARNING CSS, on the other hand, is a fair amount of work, but it’s highly recommended if you want to get the most out of Bootstrap Studio, and become a good web developer.)

To customize the hover styling, you would select the button and then look in the Styles panel for the CSS class(es) that affect the styling, and then change the class(es) as desired.

Here’s a simple example on how to change the hover color of a button (refer to the image below):

I’ve added a button to a blank page, and selected it. This causes it to be highlighted in a square box within the HTML panel (which I’ve circled in green.)

Then I’ve gone to the Styles panel and (1) clicked the dropdown menu called Force State and set the state to hover (circled in red.)

With the hover state selected, you can see the class (circled in yellow) that is responsible for the color of the button when you hover over it. In this case, the class is .btn-primary:hover