How to override Bootstrap CSS with brand new styling?

Hey guys,

Quick question I had since I'm new to the app. Say for example I have a default navbar out of drag and drop like this; Well, how can I override all of the default styling? For example, the default uses gradients and such. How would I go about using something like; "background-color: red;" as an example? Because I've tried a lot of different things, and it appears the gradient from the default bootstrap draws over everything unless I take an EXACT direct copy of that styling and change the colours that way.

Any help is appreciated!

You can import a new Theme {File}-{Design Settings} - {Main} - {Manage Themes}

then you have your own CSS-Files with Bootstrap.

For customizing these Import-Themes, I use SASS. So every detail of the NAV can be changed easily

Or you can override each NAV-CSS on your own in the styles.css, but that's a lot of work.

Hey Frank,

Can you perhaps give a little more elaboration or some examples regarding SASS? Never used it before but currently doing the 2nd way you said involving overriding each class for the nav, and you are right, it's really quite a lot of work.

Thanks

Overriding classes (if they are the default locked ones) is really the only "direct" way to edit things like this. Yes it's a little more work, but not really all that much. If you're a good web designer, you usually don't edit the default classes of a Bootstrap CSS file anyways, you copy it to a custom file so you don't lose the original information. This works the same way in BSS, so it's really not any more work than it would be if you were doing things the proper way outside of BSS :P Actually it's shorter amount of time as it copies it for you directly to the file you want it in so you don't have to copy and paste it to another file manually. :)

Outside of that, the theme idea is pretty interesting to me too, I haven't played around much with that stuff yet.