Some thoughts after using BSS for a few months

So I’ve been working with BSS for a few months now over three projects, and I’d like to share a few impressions and observations concerning the product.

First, and foremost: I like it. There are too few good WYSIWYG web page designers out there, and most of them are ridiculously expensive and/or tied to a particular service and/or use a framework like Angular which imho has become a ridiculously bloated, convoluted, script-obsessed mess. Bootstrap is a good framework, and BSS performs as advertised at a good price without forcing you into someone else’s idea of a development pipeline.

I have a few nitpicks. Cut/paste is erratic sometimes. I’d prefer the property lists be a bit better organized instead of, for example, an “Appearance” tab full of settings that affect positioning and an “Options” tab full of settings that affect appearance. Dropping a component at the end of a list frequently doesn’t put it under the parent I’d intended. Other, similar things that caused me to raise an eyebrow but ended up as part of the learning curve.

Unfortunately - and you probably saw this coming - I have one problem with BSS that isn’t a nitpick. It is, in fact, a serious shortcoming that makes BSS difficult, at times almost impossible, to use for serious design work: No template engine support. I don’t mean the “templates” shown when you start a new design, which are basically pre-fabbed web pages. I work mostly with flask and Django back-ends, which use jinja2 and Django’s very similar templating language, respectively. (In fact, I think Django can optionally use jinja2.) It is very difficult to use anything more than very basic templating in BSS. Expressions usually work inside text attributes and such. I can use custom code blocks for extending base templates and defining blocks and such.