Sticky Tooltips On Click

I am a newbie at BSS and I have a website at EndlessSummer with tooltips enabled on the Tabs in the DOWNLOADS box on the left. When I hover the tabs the tooltips show up as desired and disappear when you stop hovering as desired. When I click on one of the tabs the tooltip shows and becomes sticky. How do I make it disappear when I click tabs?

chrome_VIy47ikU2j

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

This jQuery script will hide the tooltips after you stop hovering, but if you’re using Bootstrap 5 you’ll need to enable jQuery in the settings.

$(document).on("click",function()
    {
    setTimeout(function()
    {

$('[data-bs-toggle="tooltip"]').tooltip('hide');

},100);    // Hides tooltip in 100 milliseconds
    });

Maybe a JS wizard can figure out a way to do this in vanilla JS? @kuligaposten

1 Like

You have the tooltips on the links,move the tooltips to the icons instead then they will not be sticky when click on the links
an example

no need for jquery or vanilla JS

3 Likes

Thank-You Very Much!! This option is very helpful! And thanks for going the extra mile with providing the script!

Thank-You Very Much!! This option is very helpful! I especially like not having to use jquery or vanilla JS. And thanks for going the extra mile with example!

If I wanted to use this - After enabling JQuery in BSS5 - where do I put this code?

You create a new Javascript file (Design panel > right click Javascript > New > JS file) give it a name and then paste this code into it and click apply.

1 Like

Thank you so much for the quick reply. I will give this a shot. Eventually I will learn the basics of using this software etc. Thanks Again!

It worked fantastic! Exactly what I was looking for!!

You can do it in vanilla Javascript
like this

document.addEventListener(
  "DOMContentLoaded",
  () => {
    document.addEventListener("click", (e) => {
      const tooltip = bootstrap.Tooltip.getInstance(e.target);