theme.compiled.css empty

Hello, I am new to sass, but I see a lot of potential for creating my own themes.

Could some one explain why i get an empty theme.compiled.css?

Maybe someone can show me for instance how to setup a project with a main theme.scss which imports

• _variables.scss (where i can override colors for instance)
  • bootstrap.scss
  • _styles.scss (with additional styles)

Thanks in advance

What I did was I searched online for various things regarding SASS, SCSS. What I came to is doing the following.

You have to have a main file that does not start with an underscore "_". SASS files that start with an underscore I believe are considered not rendered files they consist of your variables/mixins etc..

You @import the underscored files into a non-underscored file for the resulting outcome to then be rendered.

For instance you should create a non-underscored file such as

theme.scss

In there you do an @import "underscored-file-name-without-the-underscore-and-extension" so the contents of your theme.scss file looks like.

@import "variables"
@import "styles"

Then you @import your _styles.scss file in the theme.scss file so that it will then render your CSS rules.

This makes your variables in the _variables.scss usable in the theme.scss file prior to the loading of your _styles.scss where you actually use the variable.

So create:

theme.scss

@import "variables"
@import "styles"

Then in _variables.scss you have

$color--blue: blue;

Then in _styles.scss you have

h1 {
 color: $color--blue;
}

Which the resulting compiled theme.compiled.css file will contain.

h1 {
 color: blue;
}

This is still all new to me as well, and I did a bunch of searches and looked at guides etc... ways to use SASS etc..

Unfortunately, I can't seem to find some of the main ones I had been looking at the last few weeks, but this is one that I tend to come back to from time to time https://css-tricks.com/sass-style-guide/

Saj