const textarea = document.querySelector('textarea');
  const count = document.querySelector('.count');

function countLetters() {
    const text = textarea.value;
    const textLength = textarea.value.length;
    count.innerText = '${textLength}';
  }
</script>

basically it should be setting the count to the number of characters but instead it is setting the count to literally this ${textLength} im still learning so maybe i messed up

oh my bad thanks anyway tho

Set count.innertext to just ‘textLength’ E.g.

count.innerText = textLength;
<textarea placeholder="Message" onkeyup="countLetters(this);"></textarea>
<p>Total Characters : <span id="count">0</span></p>
<script>
function countLetters(obj){
  document.getElementById('count').innerText = obj.value.length;
}
</script>

Kuli we love you to death for all the help you give, but please please please stop helping them after we’ve told them they need to go elsewhere or post in another forum. We’re trying so very hard to reroute people to the correct forum or locations and when you post the answers in here anyways, they have no reason to bother posting anywhere else. No offense meant here at all so please don’t take offense to this, it’s just that we need to get people to the right places. Otherwise what’s the point of having different forum Categories right? :slight_smile:

1 Like

I will not give tips about scripts anymore, I will let you and your friend tell them go elsewhere and ask for a solution

1 Like

Nooo please don’t stop helping, just want to get them in the right place for it is all :slight_smile:

@Kuligaposten - I think you’re taking jo’s meaning wrong. The devs are not moderating the forums, and although Martin has said they have aspirations to do so as soon as they get BS5 out the door, I have my reservations.