Using BSS to build themes for CMS

Hi there :slight_smile:

(I hope this is the right category, if not sorry!!!)

I am a designer and since some years, in the agency where I work, I take care of UI UX and I turn my design in small working Websites using Bootstrap Studio. And I love it!

Now, a developer (back-end developer) is gonna join the agency and we are gonna work in team. I will take care of front end (so HTML CSS and JS) and he will then use the templates I create integrating Drupal or WordPress, Craft CMS or any other PHP CMS’s.

I was thinking to contine using Bootstrap Studio to create them and then he can overtake it, convert them to PHP and create custom themes for our clients.

Is a solution a Back-end developer “likes”. Is it gonna work?

It’s a popular question here in the forums. Many people have asked whether BSS will be getting any sort of back-end features, even just the ability to rename exported files as .PHP

As far as I am aware, the developers are solely focused on Bootstrap Studio as a tool for building front-end websites. Anything involving back end has to be figured out by the users. I believe there is an export script that will rename the .html files .php, but other than that, I do not believe there has been any significant efforts by the BSS community (at least here in the forum) to find ways to integrate the files generated on export with any sort of CMS or back-end database features. I may be wrong, and some others may chime in on this post, but I wouldn’t get your hopes up. This is pretty much exclusively a front-end website builder, and that seems to be how the devs and (most) users want it to stay.

So if you plan to do what you described in your post, you will most likely have to create your own solution.